DIY Record Label + Vinyl Distro Shop


The Flying Luttenbachers

Retrospektiw IV CD

1000 copies
  ORIG $8.00  

This CD collects non-LP tracks recorded between 1996 and 2000 including remastered versions of rare compilation tracks and 11 previously unreleased tracks. Over the years the Luttenbachers have changed their sound after each release adding and subtracting members and instruments. Sometimes they improvise freely with horns, upright bass and drums, sometimes they play something dubbed “neo no-wave”, other times it’s something else entirely. This is an extremely talented and creative group of musicians who play fast, tight, heavy, well-constructed and smart music. If you haven’t heard of The Flying Luttenbachers yet, you will shortly.


“Here are a pile of twisted squonk thrash tunes from the immortal Flying Luttenbachers. This CD contains tracks collected from various compilations, live recordings, and studio out takes. The booklet contains biographical and source information about each track. You will find no borders and no genres within this music. Elements of grindcore, free improvisation, metal, prime no-wave, and chaos are whipped into a smashing blend for your auditory edification. If you are the sort of person who appreciates Peter Brotzmann, Red Transistor, and Discordance Axis you probably will groove to this musical adventure.”

– Heartattack #35

Multi-instrumentalist composer, improviser, and drummer Weasel Walter is the only constant in this rotating cast of players on this cd which collects live, alternate takes and unreleased material from the various Luttenbacher line-ups from 1996-2000. The Luttenbachers touch upon the genres and attitudes inherent in free jazz, death metal and punk rock. They prioritize speed, velocity and harshness and avoid obvious rhythmic, harmonic and melodic constraints, thereby creating weird, extreme and complex music.

The cd contains inclusive liner notes for each song which include the group line-up and album-era and such asides as- the band stepped on stage just seconds after Weasel had punched out the dressing room mirror, everyone could feel the desperation and psychosis. The trio proceeded to strafe the crowd with an assault of epic proportions. The two different line-ups presented in this retrospektiw are the drum/bass/guitar satanic trio and the formation that followed, which was a largely free-improvised affair consisting of drums/sax/cello/contrabass.

I wouldn’t really consider the trio music “noise” per se: it’s noisy, but the songs are tightly-composed- think Sun Ra meets Black Flag, while the free-era, even with all-acoustic instrumentation, the music is just as hard-hitting, though not as structured.

For listeners new to the Luttenbachers, this is a good cd to pick up to see what past era of the Luttenbachers you like the best because as one never to stay stagnant, Walter has recruited two new players and has yet again moved in a new direction which can be described as “brutal prog” and has a new release on Troubleman Unlimited.

– Clamor

Track List

  1. High Fidelity Improvisation
  2. You Oughta Know
  3. Hand In My Pocket
  4. No Transistor
  5. Demonic Velocities
  6. Into The Vastness Of Stupidity
  7. Night Of The Leeches
  8. Number Two
  9. Spasms
  10. The Shriek Continues
  11. The Importance Of Discomfort
  12. Dance Of The Lonely Hyenas
  13. Utz – The Sound Of Shame
  14. Agony
  15. The Eyeball And The Fishook
  16. Last Blast Before The Root Canal

More from The Flying Luttenbachers

The Flying Luttenbachers

Negative Infinity CD